Image by Benjamin Child

Our Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees serves as the deliberative body to give guidance and direction to the National Convocation as it pursues mission and ministry in the denomination. The Board serves as the governance body in its decision making and business discussions during Biennial Session and regular Board Meetings. The Board enables the National Convocation to live into its mission as stated in the Articles of Operation: “to provide and instrumentality within the structure of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) as a forum for the discussion of pertinent issues related to Black Church life in the context of the total church live; for fellowship, program promotion, leadership training, and such other general purposes as shall support and strengthen the congregations in the total mission of the church.” 

Officers of the Board of Trustees

William Crowder Jr..jpg

William E. Crowder, Jr.




Vice President

Shannon Dycus


Orlando Scott



bev 5 - head shot - fb.jpg

Beverly Goines

Class 2022

jag P3150037.JPG

Juanita Greene

Class 2022


William Smith

Class 2022

Cicely Staton-Holt

Class 2022


Aaron Smith

Class 2024

Anne Sowell

Class 2024

Darren Phelps

Class 2024

Megan Lowe

Class 2024

Darren Phelps.jpg
Anne Sowell.jpeg
Megan Lowe.jpg

Fellowship Groups & Merger Staff

generic profile picutre - male.jpg
generic profile picutre - female.jpg
Monique Crain Spells.png

Walter Parker

Disciples Men

Claudette President

Disciples Women

Edward Williams

Ministers Fellowship

generic profile picutre - female.jpg

Ministers Wife/Husbands

Monique Crain Spells.png

Monique Crain Spells

Merger Staff

Christian Education

R. Wayne Calhoun

Merger Staff

Evangelism & Transformation

generic profile picutre - female.jpg


Merger Staff

Disciples Women

Eddie Anderson - Young Adults.jpg

Eddie Anderson

Young Adults

Ex-Officio Members

Rev. Terri Hord Owens

General Minister & President of the 

Christian Church (DOC)

YTGphoto2020 (2).jpg

Rev. Sheila P. Spencer

Interim President of

Disciples Home Mission

Rev.  Yvonne T. Gilmore

Interim Administrative Secretary of the National Convocation

Rev. Dr. Donald K. Gillett

Past President of the 

National Convocation

Don Gillett 2.jpg